Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IMG_1739

Parliament Buildings

I looked at my email on Blogging 101, then headed off to check what theme was on the daily post (well it was Places when I checked at 8am GMT this morning!
), I then headed over to my email for Photo 101 and when I saw that it was on architecture, I had a little jump for joy, as I knew I could do a post to incorporate all three 🙂 All these photos were taken whilst my family was on holiday in Canada last year visiting my relatives.

IMG_1739-2

Parliament Buildings (original)

The brief for Photo 101 was “”Study architectural forms, and also train your eye to look for shots that will translate well in black and white.”

I have taken quite a few photos of architecture since I started shooting in digital, it is not the genre that I feel most comfortable with, mainly I think due to lack of practice, but that does not stop me taking photos 🙂

IMG_1801

Reflections of old

IMG_1801-2

Reflections of old (original)

What is your preference, do you prefer these in black and white or colour, do my conversions work? (all of these were processed in Lightroom). I would LOVE to know what you think.

IMG_1806-2

First Baptist Church

IMG_1806

First Baptist Church (original)

I have a few sites that I bookmarked as of interest on architectural photography, so thought I would share three of them here as I know it is something I would like to practice. After all there is architecture all around us and the UK has some very old examples as well as new for me to practice on:

  • Photoblur – I loved the abstract nature of the photographs here and the 10 tips are very good.
  • Exposure Guide – some good tips on architecture as well as other genres
  • Light Stalking – a nice article with some good points
