Tags

, , , ,

Photography is a response that has to do with the momentary recognition of things. Suddenly you’re alive. A minute later there was nothing there. I just watched it evaporate. You look one moment and there’s everything, next moment it’s gone. Photography is very philosophical.” – Joel Meyerowitz

Joel Meyerowitz is an award-winning photographer whose work has appeared in over 350 exhibitions. Whilst working in a New York advertising agency as an art director, his boss sent him to a studio where Robert Frank was taking photographs that were going to be used of the cover of a book. After seeing Robert Frank at work, moving around the room clicking away, always clicking at the right moment, Joel knew he wanted a change of career, quit his job and became a photographer.

Known as a street photographer, in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, and a landscape and portrait photographer, he began photographing in colour in 1962 and was an early advocate of its use during a time when there was significant resistance to the idea of colour photography as serious art. In the early 1970s he taught the first colour course at the Cooper Union in New York where many of today’s renowned colour photographers studied with him.

He is the author of 17 books including Cape Light, considered a classic work of colour photography, and his newly released book by Aperture, Legacy: The Preservation of Wilderness in New York City Parks. I have not found many of his images on-line, but managed to find some for Cape Light on Tumblr. I have to say I like a lot of the photographs I found in this series, I just so love the light (it reminds me I need to get back on track with my Light project :-)).

JOEL MEYEROWITZ – Laundry, Cape Cod, 1982

Bay Sky, First Light, 1987 by Joel Meyerowitz

Hartwig House by Joel Meyerowitz

Within a few days of the September 11th  attacks on the New York World Trade Centre in 2001, after being told by a woman police officer that photographs weren’t allowed because it was a crime scene, Meyerowitz contacted some people he knew and began to create an archive of the destruction and recovery at Ground Zero and the immediate neighbourhood. He went on to publish a book titled: Aftermath: World Trade Centre Archive. Some of his photographs from the book can be found on this website here.

Joel Meyerowitz. – World Trade Center, Archive Project. 2001

Moving the Monument 2001 by Joel Meyerowitz

Joel Meyerowitz. – World Trade Center, Archive Project. 2001

Unfortunately Joel’s new website is under construction, stating it is coming in 2015, so I will watch this space. I have though subscribed to Joel’s blog on WordPress where he is doing a Project 365 and writing about each photograph he takes.

————————————————————————————————

All the above images and quotes were taken from the following websites:

Joel Meyerowitz: Website (2015). [Online]
(Accessed: 8th May 2015).

Joel Meyerowitz: BOOKS: AFTERMATH: WTC Archive (2003-2006). [Online] 
(Accessed: 8th May 2015).

Joel Meyerowitz: WordPress blog (2015). [Online] (Accessed: 8th May 2015].

Exhibition – Kunsthauswien – [Online] (Accessed 8th May 2015)

Jackson Fine Art [Online] (Accessed 8th May 2015)

The Slide Projector [Online] (Accessed 8th May 2015)

Erik Kim Photography [Online] (Accessed 8th May 2015)

Advertisements