Tags

, , , , , ,

“On earth there is no heaven, but there are pieces of it.” – Jules Renard

It was a very early start this morning as my daughter headed off on a school trip to France and then I spent the rest of the morning (on my day off work) packing for my son to go on cub camp this evening. I know that my two kids are going to have a wild time in the outdoors for the next couple of days, so I needed to plan something just for myself and my husband.

As I sat in my garden planning and then with a cup of green tea and a good book, I noticed in the corner of my eye a squirrel on my bird feeders, as I looked up he caught my eye and then darted off on my wall. About 3 minutes later back he came only to notice me again and then proceeded to scamper off again. This happened about six times with him watching me all along, it really made me smile to watch him, as unlike most of the other squirrels that come into my garden he was just so shy.

It is amazing what you can hear when you just sit quietly outside, I really need to learn some bird sounds as I heard at least five different ones as I relaxed. I have recorded the sounds on my phone so when I have a free moment I will work out what they were.

Over the last week or so we have purposely left our lawn to grow, the buttercups and daisies were not far behind which gives me an easy place to get photos of insects.