Tags

, , , , ,

It rains, then it rains and then it rains some more. Living in the UK we get quite a lot of rain. I much prefer sunshine, but, rainy days don’t have to get you down; yes, I love being outside walking or playing with the children on my days off more than anything. I do though try to make the most of the weather we have in the UK no matter what! Photos have so much more atmosphere to them (for me anyway) when there are clouds in the sky, especially dark and brooding ones, which make fantastic black and white captures. When the rain starts, I do some indoor photography. I like capturing the rain drops on our windows, making the outside street a blurry wet smudge of colour and taking photos of my kids as we enjoy some quiet (or not so quiet) time together. Then when the rain has stopped and the outside is wet there are so many opportunities, reflections in rain puddles, refractions in water droplets, bokeh droplets, the list is endless. Below I have included just a few of the shots that never would have been if it had not been for a downpour of rain.

BEFORE THE STORM

A storm is brewing!

Barren

The calm before the storm

DURING

City lights

Dreaming of sunshine

AND THE AFTER

Spiralling

Hanging on

Sparkling web

My perfect rainy day activity when my kids are quietly playing together and I have some precious “ME” time is being curled up with a good book and a lovely warm cup of tea/ coffee or hot chocolate (depending on the time of day!)in my hand……..BLISS.

What is your perfect rainy day activity?